Coach Bill Bragg Trophy

Awarded to the club with most points in all C-4 events.

Bill Bragg founded the Ventura Olympic Canoe Club in the mid 1970s and quickly grew it to be a club of nearly 50 members, made up of mostly Juniors and Juveniles thanks in a large part to Bragg being a physical education teacher at a middle school in Ventura, California.

Unlike many clubs at the time, Ventura never had a boat house or even a permanent location — only a 40 foot boat trailer known as the Turkey Express. VOCC made many of their boats themselves and had an equal number of kayak and canoe paddlers. At its peak, the club would have three C-4s that it would bring to the Nationals, flooding the events with their loud orange shirts.

In more than one Nationals, VOCC won every C-4 race, including the Senior race using only Junior (or younger) paddlers. The photo on the trophy shows Bill Bragg riding a “victory” lap with four Juniors who had just won the Senior C-4 1000m race in 1979 and the paddle on the trophy is one Bill Bragg made.

This trophy honors Bill Bragg’s legacy and contributions.

This trophy was provided by Ventura (Olympic) Canoe & Kayak Club who reserves the right to refurbish or retire this trophy at its choosing.


2021Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2020Not Awarded due to Covid-19 Pandemic
2019Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2018Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2017Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2016Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2015Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2014Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2013Oklahoma City Riversport Canoe/Kayak
2012Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2011Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2010Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2009Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2008Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2007Seattle Canoe Club (First Awarded)