Jim Terrell Burgee Award

Awarded to the winner of the Men’s C-1 Senior 500m

The National Championship C-1 Men’s 500m event is being named in honor of Jim Terrell – a rare four time Olympian with a long resume full of international medals and national titles. Jim was a 17-time National Champion, medaled in four Pan American Games, competed in the World Championships eight times, won 28 US Olympic Festival medals – the winningest medalist count of any athlete in any sport at the Festival.

During his career, he was honored with numerous special awards as well:

  • 1998 Honored with the “Jim Terrell Park” in hometown of Milford, Ohio
  • 1994 Inducted into the Clermont County Hall of Fame, Ohio
  • 1994 Voted in Top 100 most influential people in Newport Beach-Costa Mesa, California
  • 1993 Voted 61 in the list of the most influential people in Newport Beach- Costa Mesa, California

Since retiring from competition, he has dedicated himself to building the finest competition paddles available today – starting his own company: QuickBlade Paddles. Many of the top canoeists and kayakers worldwide are using paddles designed and built by Jimmy. He is truly a good-will ambassador for the sport and continues to give back to the canoe/kayak community. This award is for his many years as a competitive canoeist and his continued involvement in paddle-sport.

Jim’s favorite race was the C-1 500m.


2022Gavin Ross
2021Kenny Kasperbauer
2020Not Awarded – Covid-19 Pandemic
2019Ryan Grady
2018Kenny Kasperbauer
2017Ryan Grady
2016Ian Ross
2015Zachary Guay
2014Robert Finlayson
2013Robert Finlayson
2012Ian Ross
2011Zachary Guay
2010Robert Finlayson (First year awarded)