Thomas Horton Trophy

Awarded to the club with most points in the Juvenile Division (U16)

Named in honor of Thomas Horton, this award memorializes a two-time Olympian, who competed first in the 1948 London Games in K-1 1000 and later in the 1952 Helsinki Games in K-2 1000 with his partner John Eiseman. Both paddlers competed for the Potomac Boat Club, located on the banks of the Potomac River in Washington, D.C., just next door to the historic Washington Canoe Club. Prior to the Olympic Games Tom Horton served his country during wartime as a United States Marine.

In later years, after graduating business school, he had a career with IBM until he retired and relocated to Southern California to start a new career in the film industry. He was hugely successful in film as well, winning two Emmy Awards, one in 1980 and another in 1983 for documentary film production.

In 1984 he returned to canoeing as the Co-Commissioner for Canoe/Kayak at the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles. This trophy was donated in his honor by the Ventura Olympic Canoe Club (VOCC) in recognition of Tom’s efforts in helping support the VOCC during and after the 1984 Olympic Games.

Thomas Horton passed away in 2014.

This trophy was provided by Ventura (Olympic) Canoe & Kayak Club who reserves the right to refurbish or retire this trophy at its choosing.


2021Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2020Not Awarded due to Covid-19 Pandemic
2019Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2018Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2017Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2016Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2015Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2014Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2013San Diego Canoe/Kayak Team
2012Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2011Seattle Canoe Club
2010– TBD –
2009– TBD –
2008– TBD –
2007Seattle Canoe Club
2006Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2005Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
2004Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2003Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2002Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2001Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2000San Diego Canoe/Kayak Team
1999San Diego Canoe/Kayak Team
1998Newport Aquatic Center
1997Newport Aquatic Center
1996Newport Aquatic Center
1995Seattle Canoe Club
1994Seattle Canoe Club
1993Seattle Canoe Club
1992Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1991Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1990Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1989Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1988Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1987Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1986Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1985Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1984Sebago Canoe Club
1983St Charles Canoe Club
1982Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1981St Charles Canoe Club
1980Black Anvil Boat Club (First Awarded)