Black Anvil Trophy

Awarded to the club with the most points scored in Junior events (U18)

The Ventura Olympic Canoe Club was “also known as” the Black Anvil Boat Club, for a single year – 1980. The club had won the Yonker’s Canoe Club Trophy for most club points for four consecutive years just prior, few clubs have been able to achieve that feat. Ventura would have another string of four victories from 1984 to 1987.

But in 1980, the club had a sponsor who wanted to help them get all the way across the country to the Nationals at Lake Sebago, New York. Ventura would get funding to offset the trip, materials to build some new boats, and new uniforms as part of this sponsorship. All they had to do was change the name to the Black Anvil Boat Club.

Since many clubs were also gunning to beat VOCC, the club told everyone that “VOCC would not be at the Nationals” that summer. They showed up at the lake the day before the races, paid late fees for entries, and raced as the Black Anvil Boat Club, winning the Yonker’s Canoe Club trophy again. The sponsor had also given Ventura money to support a perpetual award and given the club was mostly Juniors, the Black Anvil Trophy for High Point Junior Club was born.


2021Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2020Not Awarded Due to Covid-19 Pandemic
2019Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2018Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2017Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2016Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2015Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2014Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2013Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2012Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2011Seattle Canoe Club
2010– TBD –
2009– TBD –
2008 – TBD –
2007Seattle Canoe Club
2006Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2005Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
2004Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2003Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2002Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2001Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2000Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
1999Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
1998Newport Aquatic Center
1997Newport Aquatic Center
1996Newport Aquatic Center
1995Seattle Canoe Club
1994Seattle Canoe Club
1993Seattle Canoe Club
1992Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1991Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1990Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1989Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1988Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1987Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1986Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1985Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1984Sebago Canoe Club
1983St Charles Canoe Club
1982Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1981St Charles Canoe Club
1980Black Anvil Boat Club (First Awarded)