Yonkers Canoe Club Trophy

 Awarded to the club with highest point total in each event (except Masters).

Yonkers Canoe Club Trophy

Yonkers Canoe Club (YCC) is located in Yonkers, New York just north of New York City on the banks of the Hudson River. The club was founded by paddlers in the area in 1884. Many of the members were immigrant blue collar workers from Germany, England and Poland, who earned a living at the nearby Otis Elevator factory.

One of the immigrants arrived in Yonkers dirt poor but with machinery skills. He was the one who did the artwork, molding and casting of the Yonkers High Point Trophy awarded annually in Sprint Canoe-Kayak. YCC had many stand-out paddlers and earned the National Trophy many times. Perhaps the best paddlers ever produced from YCC were the C-2 team of Steve Macknowski and Steve Lysak. In 1948 they won Silver in the C-2 1000m and Gold in C-2 10,000m at the London Olympics. They did it in a canoe designed and built by Steve Lysak.

In the 1990’s, YCC lost its sprint racing culture, and since then the club has been renamed the Yonkers Paddling and Rowing Club and is still active and has many members who continue to enjoy being on the Hudson River. The Yonkers Trophy is awarded to the club with the highest cumulative points in all race categories and therefore becomes the Overall Winner of the US Sprint National Championships. 


2021Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2020Not Awarded due to Covid-19 Pandemic
2019Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2018Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2017Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2016Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2015Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2014Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2013Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2012Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team
2011Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2010Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2007Seattle Canoe & Kayak Club
2006Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2005Seattle Canoe & Kayak Club
2004Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2003Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2002Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
2001Seattle Canoe Club
2000Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
1999Lanier Canoe & Kayak Club
1998Newport Aquatic Center
1997Newport Aquatic Center
1996Newport Aquatic Center
1995Newport Aquatic Center
1994Newport Aquatic Center
1993Newport Aquatic Center
1992Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1991Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1990Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1989Hawaii Canoe & Kayak Team
1988Washington Canoe Club
1987Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1986Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1985Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1984Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1983St Charles Canoe Club
1982St Charles Canoe Club
1981St Charles Canoe Club
1980Black Anvil Boat Club (VOCC)
1979Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1978Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1977Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1976Ventura Olympic Canoe Club
1975Ventura Rusty Pelican
1974Niles-Buchanan Kayak Club
1973Rusty Pelican Oaring Association
1972Rusty Pelican Oaring Association
1971Washington Canoe Club
1970Washington Canoe Club
1969Sebago Canoe Club
1968Washington Canoe Club
1967Columbia Canoe Club
1966Washington Canoe Club
1965Potomac Boat Club
1964California Kayak Club
1963Niles Canoe Club
1962Washington Canoe Club
1961Washington Canoe Club
1960Washington Canoe Club
1959Washington Canoe Club
1958Yonkers Canoe Club
1957Yonkers Canoe Club
1956Yonkers Canoe Club
1955Yonkers Canoe Club
1954Potomac Boat Club
1953Potomac Boat Club
1952Samoset Canoe Club
1951Yonkers Canoe Club
1950Yonkers Canoe Club
1949Pendleton Canoe Club
1948Yonkers Canoe Club
1947Pendleton Canoe Club
1946Yonkers Canoe Club
1945No Race
1944No Race
1943No Race
1942No Race
1941Inwood Canoe Club
1940Yonkers Canoe Club
1939Yonkers Canoe Club
1938Yonkers Canoe Club
1937Yonkers Canoe Club
1936Washington Canoe Club
1935Washington Canoe Club
1934Yonkers Canoe Club
1933Washington Canoe Club
1932Washington Canoe Club
1931Pendleton Canoe Club
1930Pendleton Canoe Club (First Year Awarded)